Chopard by Wagner

Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition

In 2018, Chopard celebrated three decades of partnership with the Mille Miglia race, "la corsa più bella del mondo" which is raced over a 1,600 km loop running from Brescia to Rome and back. This unique alliance in the world of classic motorsport, which reflects Chopard Co-President Karl-Friedrich Scheufele’s passion for classic cars, continues this year with the Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition. This distinctive, sturdy and accurate chronograph reflects a tradition of watches made for contemporary gentlemen and imbued with the inimitable vintage spirit for speed-loving drivers... who never skimp on style!

The sweet fragrance of Italian scents, the charm of Tuscan villages nestled in the hills, the winding roads of Lombardy hurtled along by drivers navigating the nearly 1,600 kilometres rally route. Mille Miglia is all that at once: a legendary competition that Enzo Ferrari unhesitatingly referred as “la corsa più bella del mondo”, but also a unique gathering of more than 400 historic cars and their drivers, all devotees of these mechanical marvels with a unique roar and which can only be driven with class. This four-stage rally driven from Brescia to Rome and back was bound to appeal to Karl-Friedrich Scheufele, a keen classic car connoisseur – and driver – when his schedule permits. Especially since the spirit of this race, which began in the 1920s and was resurrected in 1977, carries memories of the finest hours in motorsport, with the Dolce Vita as an added bonus.

Ein Uhrenbolide

Since 1988, Chopard has been a key partner to this legendary competition. These ties are notably expressed through the Mille Miglia watch collection, which has taken a prominent place among the Maison’s timepieces thanks to its resolutely sporty character tinged with deliciously retro accents, much like the rally that inspires it. The GTS line perfectly embodies this osmosis through resolutely current vintage watches capable of incorporating historical codes within a contemporary and uncompromising timepiece. The Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition model vividly illustrates this approach in its version featuring an all-steel case and issued as a 1,000-piece limited edition. Intended for contemporary gentlemen who approach life like a hairpin bend, it radiates a strikingly sophisticated and intrepid character.

The Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition watch is first and foremost a watch designed for racing, a true horological speed machine. Alongside its obvious robustness and durability, it features a generous 44 mm case with a screw-in back and water resistance guaranteed to 100 metres. The case-back is also engraved with the Mille Miglia logo on a black PVD-treated checkerboard pattern reminiscent of the race commissioner’s flag. This efficient high-performance model is powered by a self-winding chronograph movement whose accuracy is certified by the Swiss Official Chronometer Testing Institute (COSC) for a full two-day power reserve. Operating at a frequency of 28,800 vibrations per hour, this distinctive ‘engine’ ensures eighth-of-a-second measurement of short times, perfectly adapted to old-timers’ road-going exploits. For those accustomed to eating up the miles the tachymeter scale engraved on the blackened aluminium insert of the bezel serves to calculate the average speed during the race. An essential piece of information for drivers, given that an endurance event such as the Mille Miglia race is won by regularity.

Funktional und doch elegant

The robust and high-performance Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition, which belongs to the Mille Miglia GTS collection presented in 2015, is also highly functional, particularly with its two ergonomically designed chronograph pushers. The hands and hour-markers are coated with Super-LumiNova®, ensuring perfect readability of the time indications both day and night. An essential feature in the heat of the action, when driving requires full attention in case of bad weather or night -time arrivals. In the same spirit, so as to leave as much space as possible on the dial, the seconds numerals pointed to by the dedicated sweep-seconds hand have been integrated into the inner bezel ring. The two chronograph counters, positioned along the vertical axis with the minutes at 12 o’clock, and the hours at 6 o’clock, appear in anthracite grey with a white transfer, creating a perfect contrast with the silver-toned dial featuring small seconds at 9 o’clock. The colour coding with red for the hands and black on the counters, inner bezel ring and bezel thereby serves to highlight the chronograph-related functions. The date, positioned for the first time beneath a domed crystal, reflects the same concern for legibility.

While every inch the measuring instrument, this Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition nevertheless displays to the full the innate elegance that is inextricably bound up with the collection. The profile of the watch has been redesigned in terms of the case curves, complemented by a domed crystal creating an even more beautifully rounded effect. The camel-coloured perforated calf leather strap with tone-on-tone stitching is a vivid reminder that this naturally powerful yet classically handsome watch was designed as a racing companion. An original nod to the community of driving adventurers, the strap lining features a Dunlop 1960s tyre-tread motif ensuring maximum wearer comfort as well as providing a reminder of beautiful driving adventures. Mille Miglia is exactly that: a daily escapade with a watch on the wrist that evokes the thrill of classic racing cars and the charm of Italian insouciance, all served by an implacably accurate and reliable mechanism. The spirit of the race remains ever present, even for those not on the starting line next May 15th.

Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition

Ref. 168571-3004
in stainless steel with a cognac-coloured calf leather and black rubber strap
1,000-piece limited edition

Technical Details

Case:
Stainless steel
Total diameter: 44.00 mm
Thickness: 14.63 mm
Water-resistant: to 100 metres
Stainless steel crown with steering wheel motif: 8.00 mm
Polished stainless steel bezel with black aluminium inlay
Glareproofed sapphire crystal with magnified date window
18-carat rose gold pushers
Exhibition back stamped with the Mille Miglia logo and a blackened PVD-treated checkerboard

Movement:
Mechanical self-winding movement
Chronograph
Total diameter: 30.40 mm
Thickness: 7.90 mm
Number of jewels: 25
Frequency: 28,800 vph (4 Hz)
Power reserve: 48 hours
Chronometer certified (COSC)

Dial and hands:
Snailed grey dial with ruthenium-coloured dial achieved by galvanic treatment –
Varnished black and grey inner bezel ring with a white transfer
Snailed hours and minutes counters at 6 and 12 o’clock respectively, with black colour achieved by galvanic treatment
Super-LumiNova®-painted appliques
Facetted rhodium-plated hours and minutes hands
Counter hands rhodium-plated with red tips (at 6 and 12 o’clock) or all-rhodium-plated (9 o’clock)
Rhodium-plated red-tipped sweep-seconds hand

Functions:
Hours, minutes, seconds
Small seconds at 9 o’clock
30-minute and 12-hour counters
Date aperture at 3 o’clock
Tachymeter scale

Strap and buckle:
Cognac-coloured calf leather strap with tone-on-tone stitching
Perforations inspired by driving gloves
Black rubber lining inspired by 1960s Dunlop racing tyres
Polished stainless steel folding clasp

Blog Overview

Related Posts

The Longines Elegant Collection

The Longines Elegant Collection: Now adorned in blue

IWC Pilot’s Watch Spitfire

IWC Schaffhausen hat eine neue Spitfire-Linie in der Pilot’s Watches Kollektion vorgestellt.

Tudor Black Bay Chrono S&G

The first TUDOR chronograph, with a self-winding Manufacture Calibre, column wheel and vertical coupling is now available in an S&G version.

Wagner Sapphire

The blue precious stone is synonymous among jewellery connoisseurs with stylish and timeless jewellery design.

Chopard by Wagner

Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition

Im Jahr 2018 feierte Chopard drei Jahrzehnte Partnerschaft mit der Mille-Miglia-Rallye, «la corsa più bella del mondo», die über 1600 Kilometer von Brescia nach Rom und wieder zurück führt. Diese in der Welt des klassischen Automobilsports einzigartige Verbindung, entstanden dank der Leidenschaft von Karl-Friedrich Scheufele, dem Co-Präsidenten von Chopard für Oldtimer, findet dieses Jahr mit der Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition eine Verlängerung. Der robuste und präzise Chronograph steht mit seinem unnachahmlichen Vintage-Geist für rasante Fahrer ganz in der Tradition der Uhren für den Gentleman von heute – aber mit Stil!

Das unvergleichlich süße Aroma der Italianità, der Charme toskanischer Dörfer, eingebettet in sanfte Hügel, die kurvenreichen Straßen der Lombardei: All dem begegnen die Rennfahrer auf der 1600 Kilometer langen Rennstrecke. Aber die Mille Miglia ist mehr als das: ein Abenteuer, das Enzo Ferrari La corsa più bella del mondo genannt hat, aber auch ein einzigartiges Treffen von mehr als 400 Oldtimern und ihren Piloten. Sie alle sind fasziniert von der dröhnenden Mechanik, die so speziell ist, dass sie nicht anders als mit Klasse gefahren werden kann. Diese Rallye, die in vier Etappen von Brescia nach Rom und zurück gefahren wird, musste Karl-Friedrich Scheufele ja begeistern, den großen Liebhaber von Oldtimern und seinerzeit selber Fahrer. Zumal der Geist dieses Rennens, dessen Ursprung bis in die 1920er Jahre zurückgeht und das 1977 eine Neuauflage erfahren hat, vielen nach wie vor ein paar der schönsten Stunden des Automobilsports und obendrein la Dolce Vita beschert.

Ein Uhrenbolide

Seit 1988 ist Chopard der wichtigste Partner dieses renommierten Wettrennens. Ausdruck hat diese Partnerschaft in der Uhrenkollektion Mille Miglia gefunden, die sich aufgrund ihres entschieden sportlichen Charakters einen bevorzugten Platz unter den Zeitmessern des Hauses erobert hat. Aber auch die Retro-Akzente nach dem Vorbild der berühmten Rallye haben dabei eine Rolle gespielt. Die GTS-Serie verkörpert perfekt die Osmose der aktuellen Vintage-Uhren, welche die Codes der Vergangenheit kompromisslos in eine moderne Uhr zu integrieren verstehen. Das Modell Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition ist mit der Gehäuseversion ganz aus Edelstahl und einer Auflage von 1000 Stück ein hervorragendes Beispiel dafür. Es ist dem Mann von heute gewidmet, der das Leben wie eine Haarnadelkurve angeht, und besticht durch seinen unerschrockenen Charakter.

Die Uhr Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition ist vor allem eine für den Rennsport maßgeschneiderte Uhr, ein echter Uhrenbolide. Sie ist robust und langlebig und verfügt über ein großzügiges 44-mm-Gehäuse mit verschraubtem Boden und eine Wasserdichte bis100 Tiefenmetern. Im Gehäuseboden ist auf einem mit schwarzem PVD behandelten Schachbrettmuster das Mille-Miglia-Logo eingraviert, das an die Flagge des Rennleiters erinnert. Das leistungsstarke Modell beherbergt ein automatisches Chronographenwerk, dessen Genauigkeit von der Offiziellen Schweizer Chronometerprüfstelle (COSC) für eine Gangreserve von zwei ganzen Tagen zertifiziert ist. Mit 28 800 Halbschwingungen pro Stunde erlaubt der Antrieb eine Laufzeitmessung von Achtel-Sekunden, perfekt passend zur Straßenleistung von Oldtimern. Für die, welche das Tempo lieben, erlaubt die auf dem geschwärzten Aluminiumeinsatz der Lünette eingravierte Tachometerskala die Berechnung der Durchschnittsgeschwindigkeit während des Rennens. Für die Fahrer eine ausschlaggebende Information, denn ein Langstreckenrennen wie die Mille-Miglia-Rallye wird dank der Regelmäßigkeit gewonnen.

Funktional und doch elegant

Diese robuste und leistungsstarke Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition, Teil der 2015 vorgestellten Mille-Miglia-GTS-Kollektion, ist zudem äußerst funktional, insbesondere dank der ausgeklügelten Ergonomie der beiden Chronographendrücker. Die Zeiger und Indizes sind mit Superluminova beschichtet, was eine sehr gute Lesbarkeit der Zeitangaben nicht nur bei Tag, sondern auch bei Nacht gewährleistet. Ein wichtiges Detail wenn das Steuern bei schlechtem Wetter oder bei Ankunft in der Nacht höchste Aufmerksamkeit verlangt. Ebenso wurden die Ziffern des Sekundenzeigers in den Höhenring integriert, um das Zifferblatt möglichst frei zu halten. Die beiden Chronographenzähler, positioniert auf der vertikalen Achse mit den Minuten bei 12 Uhr und den Stunden bei 6 Uhr, werden anthrazitgrau und weiß gepaust angezeigt, in perfektem Kontrast zum silbernen Zifferblatt, einschließlich der kleinen Sekunde bei 9 Uhr. Die rote Farbcodierung für die Zeiger und die schwarze für die Zähler, den Höhenring und die Lünette heben so die mit dem Chronographen verbundenen Funktionen hervor. Die zum ersten Mal unter einem bombierten Glas positionierte Datumsanzeige dient ebenfalls der besseren Lesbarkeit.

Diese Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition, ein Messgerät par excellence, entfaltet dennoch ihre ganze Eleganz und führt so das Prinzip der Kollektion fort. Das Profil der Uhr wurde hinsichtlich der Rundungen des Gehäuses überarbeitet und zur Verfeinerung der Form mit einem bombierten Glas ergänzt. Das Armband aus perforiertem, cocnacfarbenem Kalbsleder mit Ton-in-Ton-Nähten weist darauf hin, dass diese Uhr als Instrument für Wettrennen konzipiert wurde, robust und kraftvoll, aber dennoch von klassischer Schönheit ist. Das Futter des Armbands ist eine augenzwinkernde Reminiszenz an die Asphalt-Abenteurer am Lenkrad. Es zeigt ein Dunlop-Reifenrelief aus den 1960er Jahren und bietet dem Besitzer maximalen Tragekomfort. Die Mille Miglia ist genau das: ein Messinstrument und eine Armbanduhr für den Alltag, ausgerüstet mit einer perfekten Mechanik, die an den Nervenkitzel der Oldtimer-Rallyes und gleichzeitig an italienische Nonchalance erinnert. Am 15. Mai fällt der Startschuss für die nächste Mille-Miglia-Rallye ein weiteres Mal – doch der Geist des Rennens ist stets präsent.

Mille Miglia 2019 Race Edition

Ref. 168571-3004 – aus Edelstahl mit Armband aus cognacfarbenem Kalbsleder und schwarzem Kautschuk – limitierte Edition von 1000 Stück

 

Technische Details:

Gehäuse:
Aus rostfreiem Edelstahl
Gehäuseabmessung: 44,00 mm
Höhe: 14,63 mm
Wasserdichte: 100 Meter
Krone aus rostfreiem Edelstahl mit Schwungrad 8,00 mm
Lünette aus Edelstahl, poliert, mit geschwärztem Aluminiumeinsatz
Bombiertes Saphirglas, entspiegelt, mit Lupe auf der Datumsanzeige
Drücker aus 18 Karat Roségold
Gehäuseboden mit eingraviertem Mille-Miglia-Logo und geschwärztem PVD-Schachbrettmuster

Uhrwerk:
Mechanisches Uhrwerk mit automatischem Aufzug
Chronograph
Gehäuseabmessung: 30,40 mm
Höhe: 7,90 mm
Steine: 25
Frequenz: 4Hz (28 800 Halbschwingungen pro Stunde)
Gangreserve: 48 Stunden
Chronometer-Zertifikat der COSC

Zifferblatt und Zeiger:
Rutheniumfarbenes, graublaues Zifferblatt, galvanisch behandelt – schwarz und grau lackierter Höhenring, weiß gepaust
Stundenzähler bei 6 Uhr, Minutenzähler bei 12 Uhr, azurblau und schwarz, galvanisch behandelt
Rhodinierte Auflagen mit Superluminova
Facettierte und rhodinierte Stunden- und Minutenzeiger
Rhodinierte Zeiger der Chronographenzähler mit roten Spitzen (bei 6 Uhr und bei 12 Uhr) oder rhodiniert (9 Uhr)
Rhodinierter Sekundenzeiger mit roter Spitze

Funktionen:
Stunden, Minuten, Sekunden
Kleine Sekunde bei 9 Uhr
Zähler 30 Min. und 12 Uhr
Datumsanzeige bei 3 Uhr
Tachometer

Armband und Schnalle:
Armband aus cocnacfarbenem Kalbsleder mit Ton-in-Ton-Nähten
Perforierung inspiriert von Rennfahrerhandschuhen
Schwarzes Kautschukfutter, inspiriert von den Dunlop-Reifen der 1960er Jahre
Dornschließe aus poliertem Edelstahl

Blog Übersicht

Ähnliche Artikel

Longines Conquest V.H.P. Chronograph

Eine Geschichte voller Innovationen und technischer Meisterleistungen

Panerai Submersible Carbotech™

Panerai präsentiert zwei neue professionelle Taucheruhren aus Carbotech, einem leichten und robusten Material auf Kohlefaserbasis mit ausgezeichneten mechanischen Eigenschaften.

Breitling Navitimer Ref. 806 1959 Re-Edition

Breitling lanciert die erste Neuauflage eines historischen Zeitmessers