wagner collection signature karat gold perlmutt diamanten

Mother-of-Pearl: entrancing natural sheen

The subtle iridescence of mother-of-pearl lends jewellery a natural beauty and a special look all of its own. Mother-of-pearl exudes elegance and is set off to perfection by 18-carat rose gold and sparkling diamonds.

Discover more about mother-of-pearl:

wagner flora perlmutt diamanten rosegold

Where does mother-of-pearl come from?

Mother-of-pearl with its satiny lustre is a natural product that comes from the innermost layer of shells from fresh or salt water molluscs. This decides whether the fundamental hue is pale or dark. The subtle iridescence of mother-of-pearl is what gives it a special charm.

 

Learn more about Wagner Flora >

Wagner Heart Mother of Pearl_Perlmutt Rosegold

What is mother-of-pearl made of?

Mother-of-pearl is composed of calcium carbonate in the form of aragonite and conchiolin from organic material. In the case of mother-of-pearl, the conchiolin ensures cohesion of the wafer-like aragonite crystals, which, layer by layer, go to form this fascinating and lustrous natural material.

Learn more about Wagner Heart Mother of Pearl >

Wagner Signature Ring_Perlmutt Diamanten Rosegold.jpg

How is mother-of-pearl processed?

Mother-of-pearl is a good material to work with: fine saw blades are used to saw suitably sized pieces of the raw material required for creating jewellery. Steel tools are used to form the mother-of-pearl into the correct style before setting it. The prepared pieces of mother-of-pearl are shimmed and positioned for grinding and subsequent polishing. Once they have been given their special iridescent sheen through polishing, the selected pieces of mother-of-pearl are set.

Wagner Signature Ring >

Wagner Signature Ohrschmuck_Perlmutt Diamanten Rosegold

Where is mother-of-pearl used?

Opalescent, wafer-thin mother-of pearl is ideal for creating jewellery, allowing it to sparkle with life. No other jewellery material possesses anywhere near as similar characteristics. And that is exactly what makes mother-of-pearl so fascinating. Depending on what size pieces of mother-of-pearl are used, mother-of-pearl is unequalled in how it influences the character of jewellery designs and women’s watch faces.

Wagner Signature earrings >

Wagner Manschettenknoepfe_Perlmutt Diamanten Rosegold

How to take care of mother-of-pearl

You should care for natural mother-of-pearl as you would pearls: be careful where you keep it so that other pieces of jewellery do not cause scratches to the mother-of-pearl. Hairspray, perfume and other cosmetic products damage the iridescent surface. This is why it is best if you only put on mother-of-pearl jewellery, just like pearls, once you have finished putting on your make-up.

Wagner cufflinks >

Wagner Juwelen Design with mother-of-pearl

In addition, a wealth of masterful designs combining mother-of-pearl with diamonds and 18-carat rose gold are created in Juwelier Wagner’s goldsmith’s studio. The wide variety is demonstrated by the Flora Collections in 18-carat rose gold, offering a choice between petals studded with diamonds, Lucky Charms with a key that has been set with mother-of-pearl to bring good luck or Signature Seaside, which blends effortlessness and elegance. Jewellery set with mother-of-pearl adds a new dimension to your life each day.

Blog Overview

Related Posts

Rings: Exquisite diversity

A ring is a piece of jewellery that has always possessed great symbolic meaning. It often points to a very special connection.

Hublot Big Bang e UEFA EURO 2020

Hublot is celebrating its association with the UEFA EURO 2020™ tourna-ment by presenting a dazzling array of new releases, including the offi-cial timepiece of the UEFA EURO 2020™ European Championship – the Big Bang e connected watch

Ausstellung Jaeger-LeCoultre Feminity

Jaeger-LeCoultre präsentiert außergewöhnliche High Jewellery Uhrenmodelle im Wagner Stammhaus von 17. Juni bis 3. Juli 2021

Rivière-Flow by Wagner: A sparkling symbol of strength and optimism

Created in 18-carat gold, this modern jewellery design symbolizes the exhilarating feeling of self-expression through activity.

wagner collection signature karat gold perlmutt diamanten

Perlmutt: Zauberhaft natürlicher Schimmer

Das zart changierende Perlmutt verleiht Schmuckstücken eine natürliche Schönheit und ein ganz besonderes Erscheinungsbild. Perlmutt verströmt Eleganz und harmoniert perfekt mit 18 Karat Roségold und funkelnden Diamanten.

Weitere interessante Informationen und Fakten rund um Perlmutt:

wagner flora perlmutt diamanten rosegold

Woher stammt Perlmutt?

In seidigem Glanz schimmerndes Perlmutt ist ein Naturprodukt, das aus der innersten Schalenschicht von Salz- oder Süßwasser-Muscheln stammt. Je nach dem ist der Grundton hell oder dunkel. Besonders reizvoll ist der zarte changierende Farbeffekt von Perlmutt.

 

Mehr von Wagner Flora >

Wagner Heart Mother of Pearl_Perlmutt Rosegold

Woraus besteht Perlmutt?

Perlmutt – verkürzt für die eigentliche Bezeichnung „Perlmutter“ – setzt sich aus Calciumcarbonat in Form von Aragonit und Conciolin (auch Concin) organischen Ursprungs zusammen. Letzteres sorgt für den festen Zusammenhalt der im Fall von Perlmutt tafelartigen Aragonitkristalle die Schicht um Schicht dieses faszinierend schimmernde Naturmaterial bilden.

Mehr von Wagner Heart Mother of Pearl >

Wagner Signature Ring_Perlmutt Diamanten Rosegold.jpg

Wie wird Perlmutt bearbeitet?

Perlmutt lässt sich gut bearbeiten: aus dem Rohmaterial werden die für die Schmuckanfertigung benötigten Teile in der entsprechenden Größe mittels feiner Metall-Sägeblätter ausgesägt. Mit Stahlwerkzeugen werden die Perlmuttstücke vor dem Fassen in die passende Fasson gebracht. Für das Schleifen und anschließende Polieren werden die vorbereiteten Perlmutt-Stücke unterlegt und fixiert. Nachdem sie durch das Polieren ihren speziellen changierenden Glanz erhalten haben werden die ausgesuchten Perlmuttstücke gefasst.

Wagner Signature Ring >

Wagner Signature Ohrschmuck_Perlmutt Diamanten Rosegold

Wofür wird Perlmutt verwendet?

Das schillernd feinschichtige Perlmutt ist für die Herstellung von Schmuckstücken sehr gut geeignet und lässt diese besonders lebendig wirken. Kein anderes Schmuckmaterial besitzt auch nur annähernd ähnliche Eigenschaften. Und genau das macht die Faszination von Perlmutt aus. Abhängig von Größe der verwendbaren Perlmuttstücke prägt Perlmutt den Charakter von Schmuckstücken, sowie Zifferblätter von Damenuhren auf unvergleichliche Art und Weise.

Wagner Signature Ohrschmuck >

Wagner Manschettenknoepfe_Perlmutt Diamanten Rosegold

Pflegetipps für Perlmutt

Die Pflege des natürlichen Perlmutts entspricht jener von Perlen: Vorsicht ist bei der Aufbewahrung geboten, damit andere Schmuckstücke auf dem Perlmutt keine Kratzer hinterlassen. Haarsprays, Parfums und andere kosmetische Produkte greifen die irisierende Oberfläche an. Daher sollte Perlmutt-Schmuck, ebenso wie Perlen, erst nach dem Schminken angelegt werden.

Wagner Manschettenknöpfe >

Wagner Juwelen Design mit Perlmutt

In den Goldschmiedeateliers von Juwelier Wagner wird Perlmutt zudem in Kombination mit Diamanten und 18 Karat Roségold meisterhaft und variantenreich gestaltet. Die Vielfalt dessen lässt sich an den Collectionen Flora in 18 Karat Roségold und wahlweise diamantbesetzten Blütenblättern, Lucky Charms mit dem perlmuttbesetzen Schlüssel zum Glück oder auch Signature Seaside, ablesen, in denen Leichtigkeit und Eleganz miteinander verbunden sind. So bereichert Perlmutt in Schmuck gefasst Tag für Tag das Leben auf ganz besondere Weise.

Blog Übersicht

Ähnliche Artikel

Hublot Big Bang e UEFA EURO 2020

Hublot feiert seine Partnerschaft mit der UEFA EURO 2020™ mit einer Reihe faszinierender Neuerscheinungen, darunter die offizielle Uhr der UEFA EURO 2020™ – eine limitierte Edition der Smartwatch Big Bang e.

Rivière-Flow by Wagner: Ein funkelndes Symbol für Stärke und Optimismus

Gefertigt in 18 Karat Gold steht das moderne Juwelen Design für das beglückende Gefühl sich in einer Tätigkeit zu verwirklichen.

Diamond Rings by Wagner

Der Diamant, der begehrteste und schönste aller Edelstein, ist das funkelnde Highlight der edlen, zeitgemäßen und abwechslungsreichen Jewellery Designs by Wagne

Weeks with Cartier

Tauchen Sie in die aufregende Welt des Hauses Cartier ein. Zu sehen von 21.10.21-13.11.21 im Stammhaus von Juwelier Wagner, Kärntner Straße 32, 1010 Wien.