Wagner Gold

Fine and precious metals

Gold and platinum occupy a special position as jewellery materials. Both of these precious metals define the character of high quality jewellery. <br />

Gold

The particular charm of gold is based on its rarity. Unlike silver, this costly precious metal does not oxidise, instead retaining all of its brilliance. However, gold which is almost pure is too soft for the manufacture of jewellery. Fine gold, with the highest possible fineness of 24 karat, is only used for minting coins. The gold content of an alloy in karat (kt) is specified by law. This indicates the proportion of precious metal in alloys, and must be marked on precious metal objects weighing over 5 grams by means of a hallmark, the purity mark. 18 karat corresponds to 750 parts of gold by weight while 14 karat corresponds to 585 parts.

This indicator is not to be confused with the unit of weight referred to as the carat (ct) which applies to coloured gems and diamonds. The respective quantity of the added material in an alloy influences the colour of the gold and also the durability of this fine jewellery material. For example, white gold consists of a gold alloy to which palladium has been added. Rose gold is created by adding silver. Particularly in the field of luxury watches, new patented precious metal alloys have been developed in recent years in order to make the watch case or the bezel more resistant. With these new alloys also, the fineness must be indicated by a corresponding hallmark.

Platinium

Platinum is regarded as the rarest, purest and most precious metal for jewellery. It is tougher than the various gold alloys. By contrast with gold alloys, the surface of platinum is almost impervious to damage. Special techniques (for example in the case of polishing) and special tools are necessary in order to work platinum. Platinum 950 is not only used for the manufacture of jewellery set with diamonds. This rare precious metal is also suitable for the manufacture of watch cases for special limited edition models.

In the Juwelier Wagner goldsmiths’ workshop, jewellery is produced exclusively in 18 karat white, yellow and rose gold and platinum. The special character of our Solitaire Collection jewellery is determined by 18 karat white, rose and yellow gold and also platinum, and in the case of selected jewellery items also in combination with gold and platinum, as for example in the Solitaire No1 and Solitaire & Twins Collections. The question of which of these precious jewellery metals you opt for depends entirely on your individual preference.

Blog Overview

Related Posts

The Longines Elegant Collection

The Longines Elegant Collection: Now adorned in blue

IWC introduces Le Petit Prince and Antoine de Saint Expupéry special editons

These timepieces, characterised by their distinctive midnight blue dials are dedicated to Antoine de Saint- Exupéry’s “Le Petit Prince”.

Breitling Navitimer Ref. 806 1959 Re-Edition

In 1952, Breitling developed the Navitimer, a revolutionary wrist-worn chronograph that instantly became a mainstay of every cockpit.

Wagner Sapphire

The blue precious stone is synonymous among jewellery connoisseurs with stylish and timeless jewellery design.

Wagner Gold

Edel und wertvoll

Gold und Platin besitzen als Schmuckmaterialen einen besonderen Rang. Beide Edelmetalle prägen den Charakter hochwertiger Schmuckstücke.

Gold

Der besondere Reiz von Gold beruht auf seiner Seltenheit. Anders als Silber oxidiert das kostbare Edelmetall nicht und behält stattdessen seinen Glanz. Nahezu reines Gold ist für die Schmuckherstellung jedoch zu weich. Feingold mit dem höchsten Feingehalt von 24 Karat wird nur bei der Prägung von Münzen verwendet. Der Goldgehalt einer Legierung in Karat (Kt) ist gesetzlich vorgeschrieben. Er weist den Edelmetallanteil in Legierungen aus und muss an Edelmetallgegenständen mit einem Gewicht über 5 Gramm mit einer Punze, dem Feingehaltszeichen, gekennzeichnet werden. 18 Karat entsprechen gewichtsmäßig 750 Anteilen Gold. Bei 14 Karat sind dies dementsprechend 585 Anteile.

Diese Angabe ist nicht zu verwechseln mit der Gewichtseinheit Carat (ct) die für Farbedelsteine und Diamanten gilt. Die jeweilige Menge der hinzukommenden Materialanteile in einer Legierung beeinflusst die Goldfarbe, aber auch die Haltbarkeit des edlen Schmuckmaterials. Weißgold besteht beispielsweise aus einer Goldlegierung der Palladium zugesetzt wird. Roségold entsteht durch einen zusätzlichen Silberanteil. Speziell im Bereich der Luxusuhren wurden in den vergangenen Jahren neue patentierte Edelmetall-Legierungen entwickelt um Uhrengehäuse oder Lünetten widerstandsfähiger zu gestalten. Auch in solchen Fällen muss der Feingehalt mittels der entsprechenden Punze ersichtlich sein.

Platin

Platin gilt als das seltenste, reinste und kostbarste Schmuckmetall. Es ist zäher als die unterschiedlichen Goldlegierungen. Anders als bei diesen ist dessen Oberfläche kaum empfindlich. Um Platin zu bearbeiten sind spezielle Techniken – etwa beim Polieren – und besonderes Werkzeuge notwendig. Aus Platin 950 werden nicht nur mit Diamanten besetzte Schmuckstücke gefertigt. Dieses seltene Edelmetall eignet sich auch für die Herstellung von Uhrengehäusen limitierter Sondermodelle.

Im Goldschmiedeatelier von Juwelier Wagner werden Juwelen ausschließlich in 18 Karat Weiß-, Gelb- und Roségold sowie Platin gefertigt. Den besonderen Charakter der Juwelen Collection Solitaire bestimmt 18 Karat Weiß-, Rosé- oder auch Gelbgold sowie Platin. Bei ausgewählten Juwelen auch in Kombination mit Gold und Platin, wie z. B. in den Collection Solitaire No1 und Solitaire & Twins. Welchem dieser edlen Schmuckmetalle man den Vorzug gibt hängt einzig und allein von individuellen Vorlieben ab.

Blog Übersicht

Ähnliche Artikel

Baignoire de Cartier

Die Schönheit offenbaren, wo immer sie zu finden ist. Dieser Grundgedanke ist eine Konstante, die die Kreativität von Cartier stets leitete und unter anderem zur Entwicklung der Baignoire führte.

Die Breitling Navitimer 1 Automatic 41: Die elegante Interpretation einer Legende

Seit 1952 gilt die Breitling Navitimer als weltweit renommierteste Fliegeruhr.

Panerai Submersible Chrono Gullaume Néry Edition

Stark, markant und robust: Panerai präsentiert einen neuen, von Guillaume Néry inspirierten Submersible Chronographen für den professionellen Taucheinsatz.

Diamant-Ringe

Er ist der wohl legendärste aller Steine: der Solitaire. *geschrieben von Katharina Hingsammer & Vicky Heiler - The Daily Dose