Ehrenring der Wiener Staatsoper by Juwelier Wagner

Ring of honour of the Vienna State Opera

The ring of honour of the Vienna State Opera and the certificate of honour are given to the most important opera artists.

The design was created in the Wagner jewellery workshop in close collaboration with the Vienna State Opera. The aim was to “translate” both the external appearance and the internal space of the Vienna State Opera into a high quality item of jewellery. This is why the facade of the Vienna State Opera was engraved in the carnelian, and the boxes, together with the president’s box, in the inside of the 18 carat gold ring. The folds of the red stage curtains of the Vienna State Opera are incorporated into the reverse of the carnelian. The ring is produced individually for each honorary member in the Wagner jewellery workshop, and signed with the blue Wagner sapphire.

Bearers of the ring of honour of the Vienna State Opera are: Prof. Norbert Balatsch (director choir), KS Plácido Domingo (tenor), Adam Fischer (conductor), KS Ferruccio Furlanetto (bass baritone), KS Franz Grundheber (baritone), Ioan Holender (director of Vienna State Opera 1992-2010), Manuel Legris (director ballet), Lorin Maazel (contuctor, composer, director of the Vienna State Opera 1982-1984), Prof. Marco Arturo Marelli (stage director), Lorin Maazel (conductor, composer), KS Waltraud Meier (dramatic soprano and mezzo-soprano), KS Thomas Moser (tenor), Leo Nucci (baritone), Seiji Ozawa (conductor, composer), Peter Schneider (conductor), Neil Shicoff (tenor), Dr. Georg Springer (GEO Bundestheater 1999-2014), KS Alfred Sramek (baritone), Wiener Staatsopern Orchester (Wiener Philharmoniker, the institution).

Blog Overview

Related Posts

Lang Lang celebrates in Vienna

Get-Together with Hublot and Wagner at the Vienna Konzerthaus.

100 Year Celebration

The hundredth anniversary of Juwelier Wagner was cause for festive celebrations.

José Carreras

The star tenor has received the Vienna State Opera ring of honour.

Launch party in the Theater an der Wien

José Carreras in the title role of "El Juez" or "The Judge".